FMP WEEK 7| MUSIC

Music is a big part in my creative process when developing a project. Finding a selection of music that manifests its self from the thoughts in my head: it helps me visualize my idea more vividly as music can set a tone, feeling and pacing. Below are screenshots from my Spotify playlist I created with 61 songs in it. Artists i kept coming back to was The Beatles, The Kinks, Frank Sinatra but also songs from film sound tracks that i feel fit the sort of vibe I’m going for. One of my favorite films is Napoleon Dynamite, I feel that film captures the uncomfortable and awkward feel I’m going for and the soundtrack is so exception.

A’lot of the choices are quite upbeat and have a playful soul to them like the song Iko Iko by The Dixie Cups which I’m leaning towards being the opening song to the film. Although the lyrics don’t really have much to do with the my story I love the upbeat ring to it and the repetition that i feel will be a great contrast against  very mundane and depressive visuals.

I also love Frank Sinatra’s songs ‘My way’ and ‘That’s life’ both are incredible in their delivery but its the lyrics that really draw me in.

And now, the end is near
And so I face the final curtain
My friend, I’ll say it clear
I’ll state my case, of which I’m certain
I’ve lived a life that’s full
I traveled each and every highway
And more, much more than this, I did it my way

This fits perfectly with my last scene as Joe hangs in his kitchen, he may not have succeeded in life but at least he’s going by his way. Or in the song ‘Thats life’ //

That’s life (that’s life), that’s what people say
You’re riding high in April, shot down in May
But I know I’m gonna change that tune
When I’m back on top, back on top in June
I said, that’s life (that’s life), and as funny as it may seem
Some people get their kicks
Stompin’ on a dream
But I don’t let it, let it get me down
Cause this fine old world it keeps spinning around

Which I feel sums up what my idea is all about. Life. The harsh reality of it and that its not all rosey, I especially like how in the lyrics he says life kicks him down but he gets back up however the reality in my film would be someone giving up by hanging themselves.

music 1

music 2music 3

Leave a Reply

